The Gratitude Journal

Sometimes gratitude doesn’t come easy. Especially when a little dark cloud is stalking you and trying to spit on your head. Even though my heart isn’t 100% in it, I’m still going to go for the weekly tradition of describing five things for which I am thankful. Maybe this dash of forced optimism will lighten the gloom, or force me to turn on the light.

1. I am grateful for the people who love me. I don’t always do the right things, and sometimes, loathe though I am to admit it, I’m not as strong as I pretend to be. And I need. This small group of dedicated souls accepts me as I am, offers me support when I need it, and cheers me on when I doubt myself. They give hugs, and pull out the truth, one splinter at a time. They know me, and don’t give up on me.

2. I am grateful for catharsis. Catharsis comes in many forms and may very well be underrated. There is physical activity: running, swimming, biking, hiking, whatever lets you release. There is singing, smashing, painting. There is talking and writing and dancing. There is crying. I’ve done three of these things today.

3. I am grateful for examples. This one is rather awkward and requires explanation. I was born with a certain set tools. Through my life experiences, I have modified those tools, and maybe added to them, or subtracted from them. However, my tool box is not necessarily adequate for the various things I must face. For example, I might do well at certain types of communication, and very poorly at others. Or I might not even think to communicate something because it’s simply outside my experience. Enter “the example”. This is when you see or hear about someone doing in a way that’s innovative to you. In a way you had never thought about before. And maybe these examples can be applied to my own life.

[faltering]

4. I’m grateful for This American Life. They produce amazing, thought-provoking, gripping shows. I learn a little a bit more about what it means to be human with each one. For better or worse.

5. I am grateful for 29th Street. It’s been my place to heal. To reflect. To make realizations, and hopefully make some progress towards something greater. I feel like it’s my cocoon through a long, painful chrysalis.

What are you grateful for?

2 thoughts on “The Gratitude Journal

  1. I am grateful for the things I have done right and even more so for the things I have done wrong because they also make me the person I am today.
    I am grateful for being in good health, even with my “crippled legs” (envision a crazed black woman yelling this at me in a Target store cause I went around her and her grand daughter instead of running over her crotchety ass)
    I am grateful for my girls…..Jessica and now, Selkie. Past buddies included Sammie and Madeline. I never thought I could find such a wonderful companion as Sammie was but Selkie is making her mark. Jessica makes me want to be my best, for her and for myself.

  2. These are awesome things for which to be grateful! It’s so easy to take things for granted. It seems much of the time, we only realize we wanted to embrace them after they are gone.

    I’m grateful for you, too, Mom

Leave a Reply

