The Gratitude Journal

Writing to Meme by InkSpot's Blot
Writing to Meme, a photo by InkSpot’s Blot on Flickr.

It’s been a little over a week since my last post. Some snotty little germ decided to trespass against my immune system and take me down. Since then I’ve had the dubious honor of taste testing no less than three different flavors of Nyquil. Green (most kindly described as absinthe-like), “cherry vanilla” (don’t bother waiting for the vanilla to hit you), and mixed berry. My favorite one? The one that knocks me out …

1. So in honor of bonding with my couch, bed, and local pharmacy, I am super grateful to be healthy. Having a cold is small beans compared to what other people have to face. I still bitch and complain about it. It is not pleasant when each swallow is like taking a cheese grater to the back of your throat. So, yay for health and healthy tissues.

2. Along the same strain, I am grateful for a deep, restorative, uninterrupted night of sleep. There’s nothing like spending a night in bed, shaking the walls with my cough of doom while I wonder if I’m keeping my neighbors up and if all cough drops are expediting an unfortunate path to dentures.

3. I’m grateful for Fire and Blood. What is this thing of which I speak? My YA fantasy fiction novel. It has been my friend and nemesis for years. Just recently I’ve started seeing it, and through it, myself, much differently. From spiky, alien plant with eyes in place of skin, it’s bloomed into fury color, dancing through the spectrum, equal measures of delicacy and strength. Vulnerability and courage.

4. I am grateful for the chance to learn. This weekend I went to my first SDSU Writers’ Conference. The conference design was precise, and delivered the perfect mix of opportunity and inspiration. The industry professionals there were honest, positive, and kind. I didn’t end the weekend with a book deal, but with something I feel is much more valuable. I feel energized to move forward in my quest. I am motivated. I am capable.

5. I’m grateful for birthdays. As my Mom says, the alternative rather sucks.

PS> This is an old photo from an amazing weekend in Switzerland.  Such a strange experience to writer with the aqua blue glacial water glinting in the distance, the mountains (real mountains) cradling us in their weathered palms, and the LOOSE cows getting curious about what this two-legged creature was doing on their neatly trimmed grass.

One thought on “The Gratitude Journal

Leave a Reply

