‘ways to talk about the weather’ excerpt

An Ochre Sea Star wraps itself around my ankle.  It’s something like a hug, and something like a Vulcan mind meld, stripping down the layers of flesh to get to the heart of me.  But I’m part Sea Urchin. The spines come out, whether I choose them or not.

And this is the last thing visible.

 

Author’s Note: I saw ochre sea stars and sea urchins this weekend, their color rich like velvet. Since I didn’t have my camera with me, I thought I’d share this instead. This snippet was originally intended to go into a prose poem chapbook called “Ways to talk about the weather”.  Each poem-let was some sort of reflection on the visible light spectrum. 

Leave a Reply

